MedicarePartD.guide

A non-government resource built from CMS public data

Champion Home (HMO C-SNP)

Available to residents of Kern County, CA for 2027. Contract H6170, plan 016, segment 0.

2027 drug-by-drug coverage is not published by CMS yet. The drug lookup covers 2026, whose formulary is live.

New for 2027. This plan has no 2026 predecessor in the CMS crosswalk. Every CA plan’s 2026–2027 changes →

Plan details

Monthly premium (Part C + D)$0.00
— medical (Part C) part$0.00
— drug (Part D) part$0.00?
Monthly premium with full Extra Help (LIS)$0.00?
Part B premium reduction (giveback)None
In-network out-of-pocket maximum$9,850.00?
Drug deductible$700.00Tier 1, 2 and 6 exempt
Drug out-of-pocket threshold$2,400.00
Plan typeHMO C-SNP?
Special needs planChronic-condition SNP
Qualifying conditionCardiovascularDisorders,ChronicHeartFailure,DiabetesMellitus
Contract / planH6170-016-0
Offered byChampion Heath Plan
Parent organizationChampion Health Plans-USA, LLC.
Formulary tiers6
Formulary exception tier4?
Pharmacy searchwww.championhmo.com
Member services(800)885-8000TTY 711

CMS star ratings

Overall
—
Health plan (Part C)
—
Drug plan (Part D)
—

Published per contract — every plan under contract H6170 shares this rating.

Plan health benefits

ServiceIn-network
Doctor visits
Primary care doctor$0 copay
Specialist20% coinsurance(authorization required)
Other health care professional20% coinsurance(authorization and referral required)
Additional telehealth services$0 copay
Preventive care
Medicare-covered preventive services$0 copay
Annual physical exam$0 copay(authorization required)
Kidney disease education$0 copay(authorization and referral required)
Glaucoma screening$0 copay
Diabetes self-management training$0 copay
Diagnostic tests, labs and imaging
Diagnostic tests and procedures20% coinsurance(authorization and referral required)
Lab services$0 copay(authorization and referral required)
Diagnostic radiology (e.g. MRI, CT)20% coinsurance
Therapeutic radiology20% coinsurance
Outpatient x-rays$0 copay
Emergency and urgent care
Emergency room$115 copay
Urgent care$0 copay
Worldwide emergency coverageNot covered
Worldwide urgent careNot covered
Worldwide emergency transportationNot covered
Hospital care
Inpatient hospital stayOriginal Medicare cost-sharing(authorization and referral required)
Outpatient hospital services20% coinsurance(authorization and referral required)
Outpatient observation20% coinsurance(authorization and referral required)
Ambulatory surgical center20% coinsurance(authorization and referral required)
Outpatient blood services$0 copay
Skilled nursing and home health
Skilled nursing facility$0 per day for days 1–20; $221 per day for days 21–100(authorization and referral required)
Home health care$0 copay(authorization and referral required)
Kidney dialysis20% coinsurance
Rehabilitation
Occupational therapy$0 copay(authorization and referral required)
Physical therapy and speech-language therapy$0 copay(authorization and referral required)
Cardiac rehabilitation20% coinsurance(authorization and referral required)
Pulmonary rehabilitation20% coinsurance(authorization and referral required)
Mental health and substance use
Inpatient psychiatric hospital stayOriginal Medicare cost-sharing(authorization and referral required)
Outpatient mental health, individual session$0 copay(authorization and referral required)
Outpatient mental health, group session$0 copay(authorization and referral required)
Psychiatrist, individual session$0 copay(authorization and referral required)
Psychiatrist, group session$0 copay(authorization and referral required)
Partial hospitalization$0 copay(authorization and referral required)
Intensive outpatient program$0 copay
Outpatient substance use, individual session$0 copay(authorization and referral required)
Outpatient substance use, group session$0 copay(authorization and referral required)
Opioid treatment program20% coinsurance(authorization and referral required)
Ambulance and transportation
Ground ambulance$0–$125 copay; 0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required)
Air ambulance20% coinsurance(authorization required)
Transportation to plan-approved locations$0 copay(limits apply)
Medical equipment and supplies
Durable medical equipment (e.g. wheelchairs, oxygen)20% coinsurance(authorization required)
Prosthetics (e.g. braces, artificial limbs)20% coinsurance(authorization required)
Medical supplies20% coinsurance(authorization required)
Diabetes supplies$0 copay
Diabetic therapeutic shoes or inserts$0 copay
Chiropractic, acupuncture and foot care
Chiropractic (Medicare-covered)$0 copay
Routine chiropractic careNot covered
AcupunctureNot covered
Foot exams and treatment (Medicare-covered)20% coinsurance(authorization and referral required)
Routine foot careNot covered
Dental?
Medicare-covered dental services$0 copay
Preventive dental plan limit$3,000 plan limit every year
Oral exams$0 copay(limits apply)
Cleanings$0 copay(limits apply)
Fluoride treatment$0 copay(limits apply)
Dental x-rays$0 copay(limits apply)
Other diagnostic dental services$0 copay(limits apply)
Other preventive dental services$0 copay
Endodontics (root canals)20% coinsurance(authorization and referral required, limits apply)
Periodontics (gum disease)20% coinsurance(authorization and referral required)
Dentures and other removable prosthodontics40% coinsurance(authorization and referral required)
Maxillofacial prostheticsNot covered
ImplantsNot covered
Bridges and other fixed prosthodontics40% coinsurance
Oral and maxillofacial surgery20% coinsurance(authorization and referral required, limits apply)
OrthodonticsNot covered
Adjunctive general servicesNot covered
Vision?
Eye exam (Medicare-covered)$0 copay
Routine eye exam$0 copay(limits apply)
Eyewear after cataract surgery (Medicare-covered)$0 copay(limits apply)
Eyewear plan limit$350 plan limit every year
Contact lensesNot covered
Eyeglasses (frames and lenses)$0 copay(limits apply)
Eyeglass lensesNot covered
Eyeglass framesNot covered
Eyewear upgrades$0 copay(limits apply)
Hearing?
Hearing exam (Medicare-covered)$0 copay
Routine hearing exam$0 copay(limits apply)
Hearing aid fitting and evaluation$0 copay
Hearing aids (all types)$149 copay(limits apply)
Hearing aids, inner earNot covered
Hearing aids, outer earNot covered
Hearing aids, over the earNot covered
Medicare Part B drugs
Part B insulin$0–$35 copay(authorization required)
Chemotherapy and radiation drugs0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required)
Other Part B drugs0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required)
Other extra benefits?
Over-the-counter (OTC) allowanceNot covered
Meals after a hospital stay or for a chronic conditionNot covered
Fitness benefitNot covered
Health education$0 copay
Nutritional / dietary benefitNot covered
Extra smoking and tobacco cessation counselingNot covered
Enhanced disease managementNot covered
TelemonitoringNot covered
Remote access technologies (web/phone, nurse line)$0 copay
Home and bathroom safety devicesNot covered
Counseling servicesNot covered
In-home safety assessmentNot covered
Personal emergency response system (PERS)$0 copay
Medical nutrition therapyNot covered
Post-discharge in-home medication reconciliationNot covered
Re-admission preventionNot covered
Wigs for hair loss from chemotherapyNot covered
Weight management programsNot covered
Alternative therapiesNot covered
Therapeutic massageNot covered
Adult day health servicesNot covered
Home-based palliative careNot covered
In-home support servicesNot covered
Support for caregiversNot covered

In-network cost-sharing as the plan filed it with CMS (CMS plan benefit package (PBP) files, CY2027). A range means the cost depends on the service or setting. Rows the filing does not state are left out rather than guessed. Contact the plan for the full Evidence of Coverage.

Drug tiers — preferred pharmacy, initial coverage

TierCost-sharing
Tier 1 · Preferred Generic$0.00
Tier 2 · Generic$0.00
Tier 3 · Preferred Brand25%
Tier 4 · Non-Preferred Brand25%
Tier 5 · Specialty Tier25%
Tier 6 · Select Care Drugs$0.00

Rx cost-sharing by coverage phase

Tier30-day supply90-day supply
PreferredStandardMail OrderPreferredStandardMail Order
Initial coverage phase
Tier 1: Preferred Generic$0.00$0.00n/a$0.00$0.00$0.00
Tier 2: Generic$0.00$0.00n/a$0.00$0.00$0.00
Tier 3: Preferred Brand25%25%n/a25%25%25%
Tier 4: Non-Preferred Brand25%25%n/a25%25%25%
Tier 5: Specialty Tier25%25%n/an/an/an/a
Tier 6: Select Care Drugs$0.00$0.00n/a$0.00$0.00$0.00

These are the initial coverage phase amounts, as the plan filed them in its benefit package. The deductible and post-threshold phases are not stated per tier in that filing, so they are not shown here rather than being inferred; the plan's annual out-of-pocket threshold is $2,400.00.

Star rating measures

Each CMS star measure for contract H6170, 2027 against 2026
Measure20272026
Managing Chronic (Long Term) Conditions
Special Needs Plan (SNP) Care Management · C071 out of 5 stars for Special Needs Plan (SNP) Care Management1 out of 5 stars for Special Needs Plan (SNP) Care Management
Care for Older Adults – Medication Review · C081 out of 5 stars for Care for Older Adults – Medication Reviewno data
Care for Older Adults - Functional Status Assessment · C092 out of 5 stars for Care for Older Adults - Functional Status Assessmentnew measure
Health Plan Customer Service
Plan Makes Timely Decisions about Appeals · C301 out of 5 stars for Plan Makes Timely Decisions about Appealsnot enough data
Reviewing Appeals Decisions · C311 out of 5 stars for Reviewing Appeals Decisionsnot enough data
Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability · C322 out of 5 stars for Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability3 out of 5 stars for Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability
DD1: Drug Plan Customer Service
Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability · D013 out of 5 stars for Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability3 out of 5 stars for Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability
DD4: Drug Safety and Accuracy of Drug Pricing
MPF Price Accuracy · D075 out of 5 stars for MPF Price Accuracy5 out of 5 stars for MPF Price Accuracy

Measures are paired between the two years by name, not by the C/D number: CMS reuses those numbers, and in 2027 nineteen of them refer to a different measure than they did in 2026. A measure introduced for 2027 has no 2026 score to show. Published per contract — every plan under H6170 shares it.

Also available in 9 other CA counties

Benefits in plain text

Champion Home (HMO C-SNP) (H6170-016-0) is a 2027 HMO C-SNP Medicare Advantage plan offered by Champion Heath Plan, available to residents of Kern County, CA.

The monthly premium is $0.00.

With full Extra Help (the Low-Income Subsidy), the total monthly premium is $0.00.

Its in-network out-of-pocket maximum is $9,850.00.

The drug deductible is $700.00. Tier 1, 2 and 6 exempt.

It is a special needs plan (Chronic-condition SNP).

At a preferred pharmacy in the initial coverage phase, a 30-day supply costs tier 1 (Preferred Generic): $0.00; tier 2 (Generic): $0.00; tier 3 (Preferred Brand): 25%; tier 4 (Non-Preferred Brand): 25%; tier 5 (Specialty Tier): 25%; tier 6 (Select Care Drugs): $0.00.

Email a copy of the plan benefit details

Would you like us to send the Champion Home (HMO C-SNP) benefit details to your email?

Plan facts come from the CMS plan Landscape file and the CMS plan benefit package (PBP) files.