AmeriHealth Caritas VIP Care (HMO D-SNP)
Available to residents of East Baton Rouge County, LA for 2027. Contract H2564, plan 001, segment 0.
- ✉ Email a copy of the plan benefit details
- Plan health benefits
- Benefits in plain text
- Rx cost-sharing for all pharmacies and tiers
- Other plans in East Baton Rouge County
- Plan website
- Browse the AmeriHealth Caritas VIP Care (HMO D-SNP) formulary
2027 drug-by-drug coverage is not published by CMS yet. The drug lookup covers 2026, whose formulary is live.
Renewed, service area expanded for 2027. CMS carries this plan forward from 2026. Every LA plan’s 2026–2027 changes →
Plan details
| Monthly premium (Part C + D) | $17.00 |
|---|---|
| — medical (Part C) part | $0.00 |
| — drug (Part D) part | $17.00? |
| Monthly premium with full Extra Help (LIS) | $0.00? |
| Part B premium reduction (giveback) | None |
| Health plan deductible (in-network) | $500.00 |
| In-network out-of-pocket maximum | $9,850.00? |
| Drug deductible | $700.00Tier 1 exempt |
| Drug out-of-pocket threshold | $2,400.00 |
| Plan type | HMO D-SNP? |
| Special needs plan | Dual-eligible SNP |
| D-SNP integration status | Highly Integrated (HIDE) |
| Zero-dollar cost sharing D-SNP | Yes |
| Contract / plan | H2564-001-0 |
| Offered by | AmeriHealth Caritas VIP Care (HMO-SNP) |
| Parent organization | Independence Health Group, Inc. |
| Formulary tiers | 5 |
| Formulary exception tier | 4? |
| Pharmacy search | www.amerihealthcaritasvipcare.com/la |
| Member services | (833)999-3527TTY 711 |
CMS star ratings
- Overall
- —
- Health plan (Part C)
- —
- Drug plan (Part D)
- —
Published per contract — every plan under contract H2564 shares this rating.
Plan health benefits
| Service | In-network |
|---|---|
| Doctor visits | |
| Primary care doctor | 0%–30% coinsurance |
| Specialist | 0%–30% coinsurance |
| Other health care professional | 30% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Additional telehealth services | Not covered |
| Preventive care | |
| Medicare-covered preventive services | $0 copay |
| Annual physical exam | Not covered |
| Kidney disease education | 30% coinsurance |
| Glaucoma screening | $0 copay |
| Diabetes self-management training | 30% coinsurance |
| Diagnostic tests, labs and imaging | |
| Diagnostic tests and procedures | 30% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Lab services | 30% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Diagnostic radiology (e.g. MRI, CT) | 30% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Therapeutic radiology | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Outpatient x-rays | 30% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Emergency and urgent care | |
| Emergency room | $115 copay |
| Urgent care | 30% coinsurance |
| Worldwide emergency coverage | $0 copay · $50,000 plan limit |
| Worldwide urgent care | $0 copay · $50,000 plan limit |
| Worldwide emergency transportation | $0 copay |
| Hospital care | |
| Inpatient hospital stay | $1,000 per day for days 1–2; $0 per day for days 3–90(authorization required) |
| Outpatient hospital services | 30% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Outpatient observation | 30% coinsurance |
| Ambulatory surgical center | 30% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Outpatient blood services | 30% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Skilled nursing and home health | |
| Skilled nursing facility | $0 per day for days 1–20; $221 per day for days 21–100(authorization required) |
| Home health care | $0 copay(authorization required) |
| Kidney dialysis | 20% coinsurance |
| Rehabilitation | |
| Occupational therapy | 30% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Physical therapy and speech-language therapy | 30% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Cardiac rehabilitation | 30% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Pulmonary rehabilitation | 30% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Mental health and substance use | |
| Inpatient psychiatric hospital stay | $260 per day for days 1–8; $0 per day for days 9–90(authorization required) |
| Outpatient mental health, individual session | 30% coinsurance |
| Outpatient mental health, group session | 30% coinsurance |
| Psychiatrist, individual session | 30% coinsurance |
| Psychiatrist, group session | 30% coinsurance |
| Partial hospitalization | 30% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Intensive outpatient program | 30% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Outpatient substance use, individual session | 30% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Outpatient substance use, group session | 30% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Opioid treatment program | 30% coinsurance |
| Ambulance and transportation | |
| Ground ambulance | 30% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Air ambulance | 30% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Transportation to plan-approved locations | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Medical equipment and supplies | |
| Durable medical equipment (e.g. wheelchairs, oxygen) | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Prosthetics (e.g. braces, artificial limbs) | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Medical supplies | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Diabetes supplies | 0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Diabetic therapeutic shoes or inserts | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Chiropractic, acupuncture and foot care | |
| Chiropractic (Medicare-covered) | 30% coinsurance |
| Routine chiropractic care | Not covered |
| Acupuncture | Not covered |
| Foot exams and treatment (Medicare-covered) | 30% coinsurance |
| Routine foot care | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Dental? | |
| Medicare-covered dental services | $0 copay |
| Oral exams | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Cleanings | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Fluoride treatment | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Dental x-rays | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Other diagnostic dental services | Not covered |
| Other preventive dental services | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Comprehensive dental plan limit | $2,700 plan limit every year |
| Restorative services (fillings, crowns) | $0 copay(authorization required) |
| Endodontics (root canals) | $0 copay(authorization required, limits apply) |
| Periodontics (gum disease) | $0 copay(authorization required, limits apply) |
| Dentures and other removable prosthodontics | $0 copay(authorization required, limits apply) |
| Maxillofacial prosthetics | Not covered |
| Implants | $0 copay(authorization required, limits apply) |
| Bridges and other fixed prosthodontics | $0 copay(authorization required, limits apply) |
| Oral and maxillofacial surgery | $0 copay(authorization required, limits apply) |
| Orthodontics | Not covered |
| Adjunctive general services | Not covered |
| Vision? | |
| Eye exam (Medicare-covered) | $0 copay |
| Routine eye exam | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Eyewear after cataract surgery (Medicare-covered) | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Eyewear plan limit | $300 plan limit every year |
| Contact lenses | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Eyeglasses (frames and lenses) | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Eyeglass lenses | Not covered |
| Eyeglass frames | Not covered |
| Eyewear upgrades | Not covered |
| Hearing? | |
| Hearing exam (Medicare-covered) | $0 copay |
| Routine hearing exam | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Hearing aid fitting and evaluation | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Hearing aid plan limit | $1,550 plan limit every year |
| Hearing aids (all types) | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Hearing aids, inner ear | Not covered |
| Hearing aids, outer ear | Not covered |
| Hearing aids, over the ear | Not covered |
| Medicare Part B drugs | |
| Part B insulin | 0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required, step therapy may apply) |
| Chemotherapy and radiation drugs | 0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required, step therapy may apply) |
| Other Part B drugs | 0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required, step therapy may apply) |
| Other extra benefits? | |
| Over-the-counter (OTC) allowance | Covered (allowance not stated) |
| Meals after a hospital stay or for a chronic condition | $0 copay(referral required) |
| Fitness benefit | $0 copay |
| Health education | Not covered |
| Nutritional / dietary benefit | Not covered |
| Extra smoking and tobacco cessation counseling | $0 copay |
| Enhanced disease management | Not covered |
| Telemonitoring | Not covered |
| Remote access technologies (web/phone, nurse line) | $0 copay |
| Home and bathroom safety devices | $0 copay |
| Counseling services | Not covered |
| In-home safety assessment | Not covered |
| Personal emergency response system (PERS) | Not covered |
| Medical nutrition therapy | Not covered |
| Post-discharge in-home medication reconciliation | Not covered |
| Re-admission prevention | Not covered |
| Wigs for hair loss from chemotherapy | Not covered |
| Weight management programs | Not covered |
| Alternative therapies | Not covered |
| Therapeutic massage | Not covered |
| Adult day health services | Not covered |
| Home-based palliative care | Not covered |
| In-home support services | Not covered |
| Support for caregivers | Not covered |
In-network cost-sharing as the plan filed it with CMS (CMS plan benefit package (PBP) files, CY2027). A range means the cost depends on the service or setting. Rows the filing does not state are left out rather than guessed. Contact the plan for the full Evidence of Coverage.
Drug tiers — preferred pharmacy, initial coverage
| Tier | Cost-sharing |
|---|---|
| Tier 1 · Preferred Generic | $0.00 |
| Tier 2 · Generic | 25% |
| Tier 3 · Preferred Brand | 25% |
| Tier 4 · Non-Preferred Drug | 26% |
| Tier 5 · Specialty Tier | 25% |
Rx cost-sharing by coverage phase
| Tier | 30-day supply | 90-day supply | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Preferred | Standard | Mail Order | Preferred | Standard | Mail Order | |
| Initial coverage phase | ||||||
| Tier 1: Preferred Generic | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Tier 2: Generic | 25% | 25% | 25% | 25% | 25% | 25% |
| Tier 3: Preferred Brand | 25% | 25% | 25% | 25% | 25% | 25% |
| Tier 4: Non-Preferred Drug | 26% | 26% | 26% | 26% | 26% | 26% |
| Tier 5: Specialty Tier | 25% | 25% | 25% | n/a | n/a | n/a |
These are the initial coverage phase amounts, as the plan filed them in its benefit package. The deductible and post-threshold phases are not stated per tier in that filing, so they are not shown here rather than being inferred; the plan's annual out-of-pocket threshold is $2,400.00.
Star rating measures
| Measure | 2027 | 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Health Plan Customer Service | ||
| Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability · C32 | 5 out of 5 stars for Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability | too new |
| DD1: Drug Plan Customer Service | ||
| Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability · D01 | 5 out of 5 stars for Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability | too new |
Measures are paired between the two years by name, not by the C/D number: CMS reuses those numbers, and in 2027 nineteen of them refer to a different measure than they did in 2026. A measure introduced for 2027 has no 2026 score to show. Published per contract — every plan under H2564 shares it.
Also available in 13 other LA counties
Benefits in plain text
AmeriHealth Caritas VIP Care (HMO D-SNP) (H2564-001-0) is a 2027 HMO D-SNP Medicare Advantage plan offered by AmeriHealth Caritas VIP Care (HMO-SNP), available to residents of East Baton Rouge County, LA.
The monthly premium is $17.00.
With full Extra Help (the Low-Income Subsidy), the total monthly premium is $0.00.
The in-network deductible for health services is $500.00.
Its in-network out-of-pocket maximum is $9,850.00.
The drug deductible is $700.00. Tier 1 exempt.
It is a special needs plan (Dual-eligible SNP).
At a preferred pharmacy in the initial coverage phase, a 30-day supply costs tier 1 (Preferred Generic): $0.00; tier 2 (Generic): 25%; tier 3 (Preferred Brand): 25%; tier 4 (Non-Preferred Drug): 26%; tier 5 (Specialty Tier): 25%.
Email a copy of the plan benefit details
Plan facts come from the CMS plan Landscape file and the CMS plan benefit package (PBP) files.