Blue Medicare Freedom+ (PPO)
Available to residents of Buncombe County, NC for 2027. Contract H3404, plan 004, segment 0.
- ✉ Email a copy of the plan benefit details
- Plan health benefits
- Benefits in plain text
- Other plans in Buncombe County
- Plan website
- Browse the Blue Medicare Freedom+ (PPO) formulary
2027 drug-by-drug coverage is not published by CMS yet. The drug lookup covers 2026, whose formulary is live.
New for 2027. This plan has no 2026 predecessor in the CMS crosswalk. Every NC plan’s 2026–2027 changes →
Plan details
| Monthly premium (Part C + D) | $0.00 |
|---|---|
| — medical (Part C) part | $0.00 |
| — drug (Part D) part | —? |
| Part B premium reduction (giveback) | $76.00 a month?You must continue to pay your Medicare Part B premium. |
| In-network out-of-pocket maximum | $9,850.00? |
| In- and out-of-network out-of-pocket maximum | $14,800.00 |
| Drug deductible | this plan has no drug coverage |
| Plan type | PPO? |
| Contract / plan | H3404-004-0 |
| Offered by | Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina |
| Parent organization | CuraCor Solutions Corp. |
| Pharmacy search | medicare.bluecrossnc.com/prescription-drug-coverage |
| Member services | (866)760-0823TTY 711 |
CMS star ratings
- Overall
- 4.5 out of 5 stars for Overall
- Health plan (Part C)
- 4.5 out of 5 stars for Health plan (Part C)
- Drug plan (Part D)
- 4 out of 5 stars for Drug plan (Part D)
Published per contract — every plan under contract H3404 shares this rating.
Plan health benefits
| Service | In-network | Out-of-network? |
|---|---|---|
| Doctor visits | ||
| Primary care doctor | 20% coinsurance | 40% coinsurance |
| Specialist | 20% coinsurance | 40% coinsurance |
| Other health care professional | 20% coinsurance | 40% coinsurance |
| Additional telehealth services | 0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required) | — |
| Preventive care | ||
| Medicare-covered preventive services | $0 copay | $0 copay |
| Annual physical exam | $0 copay | $0 copay |
| Kidney disease education | $0 copay | $0 copay |
| Glaucoma screening | $0 copay | $0 copay |
| Diabetes self-management training | $0 copay | $0 copay |
| Diagnostic tests, labs and imaging | ||
| Diagnostic tests and procedures | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) | 40% coinsurance |
| Lab services | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) | 40% coinsurance |
| Diagnostic radiology (e.g. MRI, CT) | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) | 40% coinsurance |
| Therapeutic radiology | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) | 40% coinsurance |
| Outpatient x-rays | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) | 40% coinsurance |
| Emergency and urgent care | ||
| Emergency room | $115 copay | — |
| Urgent care | $40 copay | — |
| Worldwide emergency coverage | Not covered | — |
| Worldwide urgent care | Not covered | — |
| Worldwide emergency transportation | Not covered | — |
| Hospital care | ||
| Inpatient hospital stay | $2,241 per stay(authorization required) | 40% coinsurance per stay |
| Outpatient hospital services | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) | 40% coinsurance |
| Outpatient observation | 20% coinsurance | 40% coinsurance |
| Ambulatory surgical center | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) | 40% coinsurance |
| Outpatient blood services | 20% coinsurance | 40% coinsurance |
| Skilled nursing and home health | ||
| Skilled nursing facility | $0 per day for days 1–20; $221 per day for days 21–60; $221 per day for days 61–100(authorization required) | 40% coinsurance per stay |
| Home health care | 0% coinsurance(authorization required) | 40% coinsurance |
| Kidney dialysis | 20% coinsurance | 20% coinsurance |
| Rehabilitation | ||
| Occupational therapy | $35 copay | 40% coinsurance |
| Physical therapy and speech-language therapy | $35 copay | 40% coinsurance |
| Cardiac rehabilitation | $30 copay | 40% coinsurance |
| Pulmonary rehabilitation | $25 copay | 40% coinsurance |
| Mental health and substance use | ||
| Inpatient psychiatric hospital stay | $2,091 per stay(authorization required) | 40% coinsurance per stay |
| Outpatient mental health, individual session | 20% coinsurance | 40% coinsurance |
| Outpatient mental health, group session | 20% coinsurance | 40% coinsurance |
| Psychiatrist, individual session | 20% coinsurance | 40% coinsurance |
| Psychiatrist, group session | 20% coinsurance | 40% coinsurance |
| Partial hospitalization | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) | 40% coinsurance |
| Intensive outpatient program | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) | 40% coinsurance |
| Outpatient substance use, individual session | 20% coinsurance | 40% coinsurance |
| Outpatient substance use, group session | 20% coinsurance | 40% coinsurance |
| Opioid treatment program | 20% coinsurance | 40% coinsurance |
| Ambulance and transportation | ||
| Ground ambulance | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) | 40% coinsurance |
| Air ambulance | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) | 40% coinsurance |
| Transportation to plan-approved locations | Not covered | — |
| Medical equipment and supplies | ||
| Durable medical equipment (e.g. wheelchairs, oxygen) | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) | 40% coinsurance |
| Prosthetics (e.g. braces, artificial limbs) | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) | 40% coinsurance |
| Medical supplies | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) | 40% coinsurance |
| Diabetes supplies | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) | 40% coinsurance |
| Diabetic therapeutic shoes or inserts | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) | 40% coinsurance |
| Chiropractic, acupuncture and foot care | ||
| Chiropractic (Medicare-covered) | $15 copay | 40% coinsurance |
| Routine chiropractic care | Not covered | — |
| Acupuncture | Not covered | — |
| Foot exams and treatment (Medicare-covered) | 20% coinsurance | 40% coinsurance |
| Routine foot care | Not covered | — |
| Dental? | ||
| Medicare-covered dental services | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) | 40% coinsurance |
| Oral exams | Not covered | — |
| Cleanings | Not covered | — |
| Fluoride treatment | Not covered | — |
| Dental x-rays | Not covered | — |
| Other diagnostic dental services | Not covered | — |
| Other preventive dental services | Not covered | — |
| Restorative services (fillings, crowns) | Not covered | — |
| Endodontics (root canals) | Not covered | — |
| Periodontics (gum disease) | Not covered | — |
| Dentures and other removable prosthodontics | Not covered | — |
| Maxillofacial prosthetics | Not covered | — |
| Implants | Not covered | — |
| Bridges and other fixed prosthodontics | Not covered | — |
| Oral and maxillofacial surgery | Not covered | — |
| Orthodontics | Not covered | — |
| Adjunctive general services | Not covered | — |
| Vision? | ||
| Eye exam (Medicare-covered) | $0 copay; 20% coinsurance | 40% coinsurance |
| Routine eye exam | Not covered | — |
| Eyewear after cataract surgery (Medicare-covered) | $0 copay | 40% coinsurance |
| Contact lenses | Not covered | — |
| Eyeglasses (frames and lenses) | Not covered | — |
| Eyeglass lenses | Not covered | — |
| Eyeglass frames | Not covered | — |
| Eyewear upgrades | Not covered | — |
| Hearing? | ||
| Hearing exam (Medicare-covered) | 20% coinsurance | 40% coinsurance |
| Routine hearing exam | Not covered | — |
| Hearing aid fitting and evaluation | Not covered | — |
| Hearing aids (all types) | Not covered | — |
| Hearing aids, inner ear | Not covered | — |
| Hearing aids, outer ear | Not covered | — |
| Hearing aids, over the ear | Not covered | — |
| Medicare Part B drugs | ||
| Part B insulin | $35 copay(authorization required, step therapy may apply) | 40% coinsurance |
| Chemotherapy and radiation drugs | 0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required, step therapy may apply) | 40% coinsurance |
| Other Part B drugs | 0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required, step therapy may apply) | 40% coinsurance |
| Other extra benefits? | ||
| Over-the-counter (OTC) allowance | Covered (allowance not stated) | — |
| Meals after a hospital stay or for a chronic condition | Not covered | — |
| Fitness benefit | Not covered | — |
| Health education | Not covered | — |
| Nutritional / dietary benefit | Not covered | — |
| Extra smoking and tobacco cessation counseling | $0 copay | $0 copay |
| Enhanced disease management | Not covered | — |
| Telemonitoring | Not covered | — |
| Remote access technologies (web/phone, nurse line) | Not covered | — |
| Home and bathroom safety devices | Not covered | — |
| Counseling services | Not covered | — |
| In-home safety assessment | Not covered | — |
| Personal emergency response system (PERS) | Not covered | — |
| Medical nutrition therapy | Not covered | — |
| Post-discharge in-home medication reconciliation | Not covered | — |
| Re-admission prevention | Not covered | — |
| Wigs for hair loss from chemotherapy | Not covered | — |
| Weight management programs | Not covered | — |
| Alternative therapies | Not covered | — |
| Therapeutic massage | Not covered | — |
| Adult day health services | Not covered | — |
| Home-based palliative care | Not covered | — |
| In-home support services | Not covered | — |
| Support for caregivers | Not covered | — |
In-network cost-sharing as the plan filed it with CMS (CMS plan benefit package (PBP) files, CY2027). A range means the cost depends on the service or setting. Rows the filing does not state are left out rather than guessed; an out-of-network dash means the plan files no separate out-of-network cost for that service. Contact the plan for the full Evidence of Coverage.
Star rating measures
| Measure | 2027 | 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Staying Healthy: Screenings, Tests and Vaccines | ||
| Breast Cancer Screening · C01 | 5 out of 5 stars for Breast Cancer Screening | 4 out of 5 stars for Breast Cancer Screening |
| Colorectal Cancer Screening · C02 | 5 out of 5 stars for Colorectal Cancer Screening | 5 out of 5 stars for Colorectal Cancer Screening |
| Annual Flu Vaccine · C03 | 5 out of 5 stars for Annual Flu Vaccine | 5 out of 5 stars for Annual Flu Vaccine |
| Improving or Maintaining Physical Health · C04 | 4 out of 5 stars for Improving or Maintaining Physical Health | 4 out of 5 stars for Improving or Maintaining Physical Health |
| Improving or Maintaining Mental Health · C05 | 5 out of 5 stars for Improving or Maintaining Mental Health | 5 out of 5 stars for Improving or Maintaining Mental Health |
| Monitoring Physical Activity · C06 | 4 out of 5 stars for Monitoring Physical Activity | 4 out of 5 stars for Monitoring Physical Activity |
| Managing Chronic (Long Term) Conditions | ||
| Osteoporosis Management in Women who had a Fracture · C10 | 4 out of 5 stars for Osteoporosis Management in Women who had a Fracture | 3 out of 5 stars for Osteoporosis Management in Women who had a Fracture |
| Diabetes Care – Eye Exam · C11 | 4 out of 5 stars for Diabetes Care – Eye Exam | 4 out of 5 stars for Diabetes Care – Eye Exam |
| Diabetes Care – Blood Sugar Controlled · C12 | 5 out of 5 stars for Diabetes Care – Blood Sugar Controlled | 4 out of 5 stars for Diabetes Care – Blood Sugar Controlled |
| Kidney Health Evaluation for Patients with Diabetes · C13 | 4 out of 5 stars for Kidney Health Evaluation for Patients with Diabetes | 4 out of 5 stars for Kidney Health Evaluation for Patients with Diabetes |
| Controlling High Blood Pressure · C14 | 2 out of 5 stars for Controlling High Blood Pressure | 3 out of 5 stars for Controlling High Blood Pressure |
| Reducing the Risk of Falling · C15 | 2 out of 5 stars for Reducing the Risk of Falling | 1 out of 5 stars for Reducing the Risk of Falling |
| Improving Bladder Control · C16 | 4 out of 5 stars for Improving Bladder Control | 1 out of 5 stars for Improving Bladder Control |
| Plan All-Cause Readmissions · C17 | 5 out of 5 stars for Plan All-Cause Readmissions | 4 out of 5 stars for Plan All-Cause Readmissions |
| Statin Therapy for Patients with Cardiovascular Disease · C18 | 4 out of 5 stars for Statin Therapy for Patients with Cardiovascular Disease | 3 out of 5 stars for Statin Therapy for Patients with Cardiovascular Disease |
| Transitions of Care · C19 | 5 out of 5 stars for Transitions of Care | 4 out of 5 stars for Transitions of Care |
| Follow-up after Emergency Department Visit for People with Multiple High-Risk Chronic Conditions · C20 | 2 out of 5 stars for Follow-up after Emergency Department Visit for People with Multiple High-Risk Chronic Conditions | 4 out of 5 stars for Follow-up after Emergency Department Visit for People with Multiple High-Risk Chronic Conditions |
| Member Experience with Health Plan | ||
| Getting Needed Care · C21 | 5 out of 5 stars for Getting Needed Care | 5 out of 5 stars for Getting Needed Care |
| Getting Appointments and Care Quickly · C22 | 5 out of 5 stars for Getting Appointments and Care Quickly | 5 out of 5 stars for Getting Appointments and Care Quickly |
| Customer Service · C23 | 4 out of 5 stars for Customer Service | 5 out of 5 stars for Customer Service |
| Rating of Health Care Quality · C24 | 5 out of 5 stars for Rating of Health Care Quality | 5 out of 5 stars for Rating of Health Care Quality |
| Rating of Health Plan · C25 | 4 out of 5 stars for Rating of Health Plan | 5 out of 5 stars for Rating of Health Plan |
| Care Coordination · C26 | 5 out of 5 stars for Care Coordination | 5 out of 5 stars for Care Coordination |
| Member Complaints and Changes in the Health Plan's Performance | ||
| Complaints about the Health Plan · C27 | 5 out of 5 stars for Complaints about the Health Plan | 5 out of 5 stars for Complaints about the Health Plan |
| Members Choosing to Leave the Plan · C28 | 5 out of 5 stars for Members Choosing to Leave the Plan | 5 out of 5 stars for Members Choosing to Leave the Plan |
| Health Plan Quality Improvement · C29 | 4 out of 5 stars for Health Plan Quality Improvement | 3 out of 5 stars for Health Plan Quality Improvement |
| Health Plan Customer Service | ||
| Plan Makes Timely Decisions about Appeals · C30 | 4 out of 5 stars for Plan Makes Timely Decisions about Appeals | 4 out of 5 stars for Plan Makes Timely Decisions about Appeals |
| Reviewing Appeals Decisions · C31 | 4 out of 5 stars for Reviewing Appeals Decisions | 3 out of 5 stars for Reviewing Appeals Decisions |
| Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability · C32 | 4 out of 5 stars for Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability | 4 out of 5 stars for Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability |
| DD1: Drug Plan Customer Service | ||
| Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability · D01 | 4 out of 5 stars for Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability | 3 out of 5 stars for Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability |
| DD2: Member Complaints and Changes in the Drug Plan’s Performance | ||
| Complaints about the Drug Plan · D02 | 5 out of 5 stars for Complaints about the Drug Plan | 5 out of 5 stars for Complaints about the Drug Plan |
| Members Choosing to Leave the Plan · D03 | 5 out of 5 stars for Members Choosing to Leave the Plan | 5 out of 5 stars for Members Choosing to Leave the Plan |
| Drug Plan Quality Improvement · D04 | 3 out of 5 stars for Drug Plan Quality Improvement | 3 out of 5 stars for Drug Plan Quality Improvement |
| DD3: Member Experience with the Drug Plan | ||
| Rating of Drug Plan · D05 | 4 out of 5 stars for Rating of Drug Plan | 4 out of 5 stars for Rating of Drug Plan |
| Getting Needed Prescription Drugs · D06 | 2 out of 5 stars for Getting Needed Prescription Drugs | 4 out of 5 stars for Getting Needed Prescription Drugs |
| DD4: Drug Safety and Accuracy of Drug Pricing | ||
| MPF Price Accuracy · D07 | 5 out of 5 stars for MPF Price Accuracy | 5 out of 5 stars for MPF Price Accuracy |
| Medication Adherence for Diabetes Medications · D08 | 3 out of 5 stars for Medication Adherence for Diabetes Medications | 4 out of 5 stars for Medication Adherence for Diabetes Medications |
| Medication Adherence for Hypertension (RAS antagonists) · D09 | 4 out of 5 stars for Medication Adherence for Hypertension (RAS antagonists) | 4 out of 5 stars for Medication Adherence for Hypertension (RAS antagonists) |
| Medication Adherence for Cholesterol (Statins) · D10 | 4 out of 5 stars for Medication Adherence for Cholesterol (Statins) | 4 out of 5 stars for Medication Adherence for Cholesterol (Statins) |
| Statin Use in Persons with Diabetes (SUPD) · D11 | 2 out of 5 stars for Statin Use in Persons with Diabetes (SUPD) | 3 out of 5 stars for Statin Use in Persons with Diabetes (SUPD) |
| Concurrent Use of Opioids and Benzodiazepines (COB) · D12 | 3 out of 5 stars for Concurrent Use of Opioids and Benzodiazepines (COB) | new measure |
| Polypharmacy: Use of Multiple Anticholinergic Medications in Older Adults (Poly-ACH) · D13 | 4 out of 5 stars for Polypharmacy: Use of Multiple Anticholinergic Medications in Older Adults (Poly-ACH) | new measure |
Measures are paired between the two years by name, not by the C/D number: CMS reuses those numbers, and in 2027 nineteen of them refer to a different measure than they did in 2026. A measure introduced for 2027 has no 2026 score to show. Published per contract — every plan under H3404 shares it.
Also available in 99 other NC counties
- Alamance
- Alexander
- Alleghany
- Anson
- Ashe
- Avery
- Beaufort
- Bertie
- Bladen
- Brunswick
- Burke
- Cabarrus
- Caldwell
- Camden
- Carteret
- Caswell
- Catawba
- Chatham
- Cherokee
- Chowan
- Clay
- Cleveland
- Columbus
- Craven
- Cumberland
- Currituck
- Dare
- Davidson
- Davie
- Duplin
- Durham
- Edgecombe
- Forsyth
- Franklin
- Gaston
- Gates
- Graham
- Granville
- Greene
- Guilford
- Halifax
- Harnett
- Haywood
- Henderson
- Hertford
- Hoke
- Hyde
- Iredell
- Jackson
- Johnston
- Jones
- Lee
- Lenoir
- Lincoln
- McDowell
- Macon
- Madison
- Martin
- Mecklenburg
- Mitchell
Benefits in plain text
Blue Medicare Freedom+ (PPO) (H3404-004-0) is a 2027 PPO Medicare Advantage health plan without drug coverage offered by Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina, available to residents of Buncombe County, NC.
The monthly premium is $0.00.
The plan reduces the member's Medicare Part B premium by $76.00 a month (a "giveback"); the Part B premium itself must still be paid.
Its in-network out-of-pocket maximum is $9,850.00.
The combined in- and out-of-network out-of-pocket maximum is $14,800.00.
CMS gives the plan's contract (H3404) an overall rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Email a copy of the plan benefit details
Plan facts come from the CMS plan Landscape file and the CMS plan benefit package (PBP) files.