MedicarePartD.guide

A non-government resource built from CMS public data

AmeriHealth Caritas VIP Care (HMO D-SNP)

Available to residents of Buncombe County, NC for 2027. Contract H8212, plan 001, segment 0.

2027 drug-by-drug coverage is not published by CMS yet. The drug lookup covers 2026, whose formulary is live.

Renewed, service area expanded for 2027. CMS carries this plan forward from 2026. Every NC plan’s 2026–2027 changes →

Plan details

Monthly premium (Part C + D)$1.90
— medical (Part C) part$0.00
— drug (Part D) part$1.90?
Monthly premium with full Extra Help (LIS)$0.00?
Part B premium reduction (giveback)None
Health plan deductible (in-network)$700.00
In-network out-of-pocket maximum$9,850.00?
Drug deductible$450.00Tier 1 and 2 exempt
Drug out-of-pocket threshold$2,400.00
Plan typeHMO D-SNP?
Special needs planDual-eligible SNP
D-SNP integration statusCoordination Only (CO)
Zero-dollar cost sharing D-SNPYes
Contract / planH8212-001-0
Offered byAmeriHealth Caritas VIP Care
Parent organizationIndependence Health Group, Inc.
Formulary tiers5
Formulary exception tier4?
Pharmacy searchwww.amerihealthcaritasvipcare.com/nc
Member services(866)773-7991TTY 711

CMS star ratings

Overall
—
Health plan (Part C)
—
Drug plan (Part D)
—

Published per contract — every plan under contract H8212 shares this rating.

Plan health benefits

ServiceIn-network
Doctor visits
Primary care doctor0%–30% coinsurance
Specialist0%–30% coinsurance
Other health care professional30% coinsurance(authorization required)
Additional telehealth servicesNot covered
Preventive care
Medicare-covered preventive services$0 copay
Annual physical examNot covered
Kidney disease education30% coinsurance
Glaucoma screening$0 copay
Diabetes self-management training30% coinsurance
Diagnostic tests, labs and imaging
Diagnostic tests and procedures30% coinsurance(authorization required)
Lab services30% coinsurance(authorization required)
Diagnostic radiology (e.g. MRI, CT)30% coinsurance(authorization required)
Therapeutic radiology20% coinsurance(authorization required)
Outpatient x-rays30% coinsurance(authorization required)
Emergency and urgent care
Emergency room$115 copay
Urgent care30% coinsurance
Worldwide emergency coverage$0 copay · $50,000 plan limit
Worldwide urgent care$0 copay · $50,000 plan limit
Worldwide emergency transportation$0 copay
Hospital care
Inpatient hospital stay$1,100 per day for days 1–2; $0 per day for days 3–90(authorization required)
Outpatient hospital services30% coinsurance(authorization required)
Outpatient observation30% coinsurance
Ambulatory surgical center30% coinsurance(authorization required)
Outpatient blood services30% coinsurance(authorization required)
Skilled nursing and home health
Skilled nursing facility$0 per day for days 1–20; $221 per day for days 21–100(authorization required)
Home health care$0 copay(authorization required)
Kidney dialysis20% coinsurance
Rehabilitation
Occupational therapy30% coinsurance(authorization required)
Physical therapy and speech-language therapy30% coinsurance(authorization required)
Cardiac rehabilitation30% coinsurance(authorization required)
Pulmonary rehabilitation30% coinsurance(authorization required)
Mental health and substance use
Inpatient psychiatric hospital stay$260 per day for days 1–8; $0 per day for days 9–90(authorization required)
Outpatient mental health, individual session30% coinsurance
Outpatient mental health, group session30% coinsurance
Psychiatrist, individual session30% coinsurance
Psychiatrist, group session30% coinsurance
Partial hospitalization30% coinsurance(authorization required)
Intensive outpatient program30% coinsurance(authorization required)
Outpatient substance use, individual session30% coinsurance(authorization required)
Outpatient substance use, group session30% coinsurance(authorization required)
Opioid treatment program30% coinsurance
Ambulance and transportation
Ground ambulance30% coinsurance(authorization required)
Air ambulance30% coinsurance(authorization required)
Transportation to plan-approved locations$0 copay(limits apply)
Medical equipment and supplies
Durable medical equipment (e.g. wheelchairs, oxygen)20% coinsurance(authorization required)
Prosthetics (e.g. braces, artificial limbs)20% coinsurance(authorization required)
Medical supplies20% coinsurance(authorization required)
Diabetes supplies0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required)
Diabetic therapeutic shoes or inserts20% coinsurance(authorization required)
Chiropractic, acupuncture and foot care
Chiropractic (Medicare-covered)30% coinsurance
Routine chiropractic careNot covered
AcupunctureNot covered
Foot exams and treatment (Medicare-covered)30% coinsurance
Routine foot care$0 copay(limits apply)
Dental?
Medicare-covered dental services$0 copay
Oral exams$0 copay(limits apply)
Cleanings$0 copay(limits apply)
Fluoride treatment$0 copay(limits apply)
Dental x-rays$0 copay(limits apply)
Other diagnostic dental servicesNot covered
Other preventive dental services$0 copay(limits apply)
Comprehensive dental plan limit$2,500 plan limit every year
Restorative services (fillings, crowns)$0 copay(authorization required)
Endodontics (root canals)$0 copay(authorization required, limits apply)
Periodontics (gum disease)$0 copay(authorization required, limits apply)
Dentures and other removable prosthodontics$0 copay(authorization required, limits apply)
Maxillofacial prostheticsNot covered
Implants$0 copay(authorization required, limits apply)
Bridges and other fixed prosthodontics$0 copay(authorization required, limits apply)
Oral and maxillofacial surgery$0 copay(authorization required, limits apply)
OrthodonticsNot covered
Adjunctive general servicesNot covered
Vision?
Eye exam (Medicare-covered)$0 copay
Routine eye exam$0 copay(limits apply)
Eyewear after cataract surgery (Medicare-covered)$0 copay(limits apply)
Eyewear plan limit$200 plan limit every year
Contact lenses$0 copay(limits apply)
Eyeglasses (frames and lenses)$0 copay(limits apply)
Eyeglass lensesNot covered
Eyeglass framesNot covered
Eyewear upgradesNot covered
Hearing?
Hearing exam (Medicare-covered)$0 copay
Routine hearing exam$0 copay(limits apply)
Hearing aid fitting and evaluation$0 copay(limits apply)
Hearing aids (all types)$0 copay(limits apply)
Hearing aids, inner earNot covered
Hearing aids, outer earNot covered
Hearing aids, over the earNot covered
Medicare Part B drugs
Part B insulin0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required, step therapy may apply)
Chemotherapy and radiation drugs0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required, step therapy may apply)
Other Part B drugs0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required, step therapy may apply)
Other extra benefits?
Over-the-counter (OTC) allowanceCovered (allowance not stated)
Meals after a hospital stay or for a chronic condition$0 copay(referral required)
Fitness benefit$0 copay
Health educationNot covered
Nutritional / dietary benefitNot covered
Extra smoking and tobacco cessation counseling$0 copay
Enhanced disease managementNot covered
TelemonitoringNot covered
Remote access technologies (web/phone, nurse line)$0 copay
Home and bathroom safety devices$0 copay
Counseling servicesNot covered
In-home safety assessmentNot covered
Personal emergency response system (PERS)Not covered
Medical nutrition therapyNot covered
Post-discharge in-home medication reconciliationNot covered
Re-admission preventionNot covered
Wigs for hair loss from chemotherapyNot covered
Weight management programsNot covered
Alternative therapiesNot covered
Therapeutic massageNot covered
Adult day health servicesNot covered
Home-based palliative careNot covered
In-home support servicesNot covered
Support for caregiversNot covered

In-network cost-sharing as the plan filed it with CMS (CMS plan benefit package (PBP) files, CY2027). A range means the cost depends on the service or setting. Rows the filing does not state are left out rather than guessed. Contact the plan for the full Evidence of Coverage.

Drug tiers — preferred pharmacy, initial coverage

TierCost-sharing
Tier 1 · Preferred Generic$0.00
Tier 2 · Generic$4.00
Tier 3 · Preferred Brand25%
Tier 4 · Non-Preferred Drug25%
Tier 5 · Specialty Tier28%

Rx cost-sharing by coverage phase

Tier30-day supply90-day supply
PreferredStandardMail OrderPreferredStandardMail Order
Initial coverage phase
Tier 1: Preferred Generic$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00
Tier 2: Generic$4.00$4.00$4.00$12.00$12.00$12.00
Tier 3: Preferred Brand25%25%25%25%25%25%
Tier 4: Non-Preferred Drug25%25%25%25%25%25%
Tier 5: Specialty Tier28%28%28%n/an/an/a

These are the initial coverage phase amounts, as the plan filed them in its benefit package. The deductible and post-threshold phases are not stated per tier in that filing, so they are not shown here rather than being inferred; the plan's annual out-of-pocket threshold is $2,400.00.

Star rating measures

Each CMS star measure for contract H8212, 2027 against 2026
Measure20272026
Health Plan Customer Service
Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability · C325 out of 5 stars for Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availabilitytoo new
DD1: Drug Plan Customer Service
Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability · D015 out of 5 stars for Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availabilitytoo new

Measures are paired between the two years by name, not by the C/D number: CMS reuses those numbers, and in 2027 nineteen of them refer to a different measure than they did in 2026. A measure introduced for 2027 has no 2026 score to show. Published per contract — every plan under H8212 shares it.

Also available in 10 other NC counties

Benefits in plain text

AmeriHealth Caritas VIP Care (HMO D-SNP) (H8212-001-0) is a 2027 HMO D-SNP Medicare Advantage plan offered by AmeriHealth Caritas VIP Care, available to residents of Buncombe County, NC.

The monthly premium is $1.90.

With full Extra Help (the Low-Income Subsidy), the total monthly premium is $0.00.

The in-network deductible for health services is $700.00.

Its in-network out-of-pocket maximum is $9,850.00.

The drug deductible is $450.00. Tier 1 and 2 exempt.

It is a special needs plan (Dual-eligible SNP).

At a preferred pharmacy in the initial coverage phase, a 30-day supply costs tier 1 (Preferred Generic): $0.00; tier 2 (Generic): $4.00; tier 3 (Preferred Brand): 25%; tier 4 (Non-Preferred Drug): 25%; tier 5 (Specialty Tier): 28%.

Email a copy of the plan benefit details

Would you like us to send the AmeriHealth Caritas VIP Care (HMO D-SNP) benefit details to your email?

Plan facts come from the CMS plan Landscape file and the CMS plan benefit package (PBP) files.