MedicarePartD.guide

A non-government resource built from CMS public data

The Health Plan SecureChoice Optimum (PPO)

Available to residents of Mingo County, WV for 2027. Contract H8604, plan 014, segment 2.

2027 drug-by-drug coverage is not published by CMS yet. The drug lookup covers 2026, whose formulary is live.

Consolidated into another plan for 2027. CMS crosswalks 2026’s The Health Plan SecureChoice - Option II (PPO) (H8604-011-0) into this plan, so its members move here unless they choose otherwise. Every WV plan’s 2026–2027 changes →

Plan details

Monthly premium (Part C + D)$0.00
— medical (Part C) part$0.00
— drug (Part D) part$0.00?
Monthly premium with full Extra Help (LIS)$0.00?
Part B premium reduction (giveback)None
In-network out-of-pocket maximum$7,000.00?
In- and out-of-network out-of-pocket maximum$9,550.00
Drug deductible$425.00Tier 1 and 2 exempt
Drug out-of-pocket threshold$2,400.00
Plan typePPO?
Contract / planH8604-014-2
Offered byThe Health Plan
Parent organizationThe Health Plan of West Virginia, Inc.
Formulary tiers5
Formulary exception tier4?
Pharmacy searchwww.healthplan.org
Member services(877)847-7915TTY 711

CMS star ratings

Overall
3 out of 5 stars for Overall
Health plan (Part C)
3.5 out of 5 stars for Health plan (Part C)
Drug plan (Part D)
3 out of 5 stars for Drug plan (Part D)

Published per contract — every plan under contract H8604 shares this rating.

Plan health benefits

ServiceIn-networkOut-of-network?
Doctor visits
Primary care doctor$0 copay$25 copay
Specialist$45 copay$60 copay
Other health care professional$45 copay(authorization required)$60 copay
Additional telehealth services$0 copay—
Preventive care
Medicare-covered preventive services$0 copay30% coinsurance
Annual physical exam$0 copay$25 copay
Kidney disease education$0 copay30% coinsurance
Glaucoma screening$0 copay30% coinsurance
Diabetes self-management training$0 copay30% coinsurance
Diagnostic tests, labs and imaging
Diagnostic tests and procedures$50 copay(authorization required)30% coinsurance
Lab services$0 copay(authorization required)30% coinsurance
Diagnostic radiology (e.g. MRI, CT)$0–$250 copay(authorization required)30% coinsurance
Therapeutic radiology20% coinsurance(authorization required)30% coinsurance
Outpatient x-rays$95 copay(authorization required)30% coinsurance
Emergency and urgent care
Emergency room$130 copay—
Urgent care$40 copay—
Worldwide emergency coverage$130 copay · $25,000 plan limit—
Worldwide urgent careNot covered—
Worldwide emergency transportation$275–$500 copay—
Hospital care
Inpatient hospital stay$395 per day for days 1–6; $0 per day for days 7–90(authorization required)30% coinsurance per stay
Outpatient hospital services$0–$500 copay(authorization required)30% coinsurance
Outpatient observation$500 copay(authorization required)30% coinsurance
Ambulatory surgical center$500 copay(authorization required)30% coinsurance
Outpatient blood services$0 copay30% coinsurance
Skilled nursing and home health
Skilled nursing facility$0 per day for days 1–20; $221 per day for days 21–100(authorization required)20% coinsurance per stay
Home health care$0 copay30% coinsurance
Kidney dialysis20% coinsurance20% coinsurance
Rehabilitation
Occupational therapy$40 copay(authorization required)$60 copay
Physical therapy and speech-language therapy$40 copay(authorization required)$60 copay
Cardiac rehabilitation$5 copay30% coinsurance
Pulmonary rehabilitation$5 copay30% coinsurance
Mental health and substance use
Inpatient psychiatric hospital stay$375 per day for days 1–5; $0 per day for days 6–90(authorization required)30% coinsurance per stay
Outpatient mental health, individual session$45 copay$60 copay
Outpatient mental health, group session$45 copay$60 copay
Psychiatrist, individual session$45 copay$60 copay
Psychiatrist, group session$45 copay$60 copay
Partial hospitalization$35 copay(authorization required)30% coinsurance
Intensive outpatient program$35 copay(authorization required)30% coinsurance
Outpatient substance use, individual session$45 copay(authorization required)$60 copay
Outpatient substance use, group session$45 copay(authorization required)$60 copay
Opioid treatment program$45 copay(authorization required)$60 copay
Ambulance and transportation
Ground ambulance$275 copay(authorization required)$275 copay
Air ambulance$500 copay(authorization required)$500 copay
Transportation to plan-approved locationsNot covered—
Medical equipment and supplies
Durable medical equipment (e.g. wheelchairs, oxygen)20% coinsurance(authorization required)40% coinsurance
Prosthetics (e.g. braces, artificial limbs)20% coinsurance(authorization required)40% coinsurance
Medical supplies20% coinsurance(authorization required)40% coinsurance
Diabetes supplies0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required)40% coinsurance
Diabetic therapeutic shoes or inserts20% coinsurance(authorization required)40% coinsurance
Chiropractic, acupuncture and foot care
Chiropractic (Medicare-covered)$15 copay(authorization required)$60 copay
Routine chiropractic careNot covered—
AcupunctureNot covered—
Foot exams and treatment (Medicare-covered)$45 copay$60 copay
Routine foot care$45 copay(limits apply)$60 copay
Dental?
Medicare-covered dental services$45 copay(authorization required)$60 copay
Oral exams$0 copay(limits apply)$0 copay
Cleanings$0 copay(limits apply)$0 copay
Fluoride treatmentNot covered—
Dental x-rays$0 copay(limits apply)$0 copay
Other diagnostic dental servicesNot covered—
Other preventive dental servicesNot covered—
Comprehensive dental plan limit$1,000 plan limit every year—
Restorative services (fillings, crowns)$0 copay(limits apply)50% coinsurance
Endodontics (root canals)$0 copay(limits apply)50% coinsurance
Periodontics (gum disease)$0 copay(limits apply)50% coinsurance
Dentures and other removable prosthodontics$0 copay(limits apply)50% coinsurance
Maxillofacial prostheticsNot covered—
ImplantsNot covered—
Bridges and other fixed prosthodontics$0 copay(limits apply)50% coinsurance
Oral and maxillofacial surgery$0 copay50% coinsurance
OrthodonticsNot covered—
Adjunctive general servicesNot covered—
Vision?
Eye exam (Medicare-covered)$0 copay$25–$60 copay
Routine eye exam$0 copay(limits apply)$60 copay
Eyewear after cataract surgery (Medicare-covered)$0 copay(limits apply)30% coinsurance
Eyewear plan limit$150 plan limit every year—
Contact lenses$0 copay(limits apply)$15 copay
Eyeglasses (frames and lenses)Not covered—
Eyeglass lenses$0 copay(limits apply)$15 copay
Eyeglass frames$0 copay(limits apply)$15 copay
Eyewear upgradesNot covered—
Hearing?
Hearing exam (Medicare-covered)$20 copay$20 copay
Routine hearing exam$0 copay(limits apply)$60 copay
Hearing aid fitting and evaluation$0 copay80% coinsurance
Hearing aids (all types)$399–$899 copay(limits apply)80% coinsurance
Hearing aids, inner earNot covered—
Hearing aids, outer earNot covered—
Hearing aids, over the earNot covered—
Medicare Part B drugs
Part B insulin$35 copay(authorization required, step therapy may apply)$35 copay
Chemotherapy and radiation drugs0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required, step therapy may apply)0%–30% coinsurance
Other Part B drugs0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required, step therapy may apply)0%–30% coinsurance
Other extra benefits?
Over-the-counter (OTC) allowance$50 allowance every three months—
Meals after a hospital stay or for a chronic conditionNot covered—
Fitness benefit$0 copay80% coinsurance
Health education$0 copay30% coinsurance
Nutritional / dietary benefitNot covered—
Extra smoking and tobacco cessation counseling$0 copay30% coinsurance
Enhanced disease managementNot covered—
TelemonitoringNot covered—
Remote access technologies (web/phone, nurse line)Not covered—
Home and bathroom safety devicesNot covered—
Counseling servicesNot covered—
In-home safety assessmentNot covered—
Personal emergency response system (PERS)Not covered—
Medical nutrition therapyNot covered—
Post-discharge in-home medication reconciliationNot covered—
Re-admission preventionNot covered—
Wigs for hair loss from chemotherapyNot covered—
Weight management programsNot covered—
Alternative therapiesNot covered—
Therapeutic massageNot covered—
Adult day health servicesNot covered—
Home-based palliative careNot covered—
In-home support servicesNot covered—
Support for caregiversNot covered—

In-network cost-sharing as the plan filed it with CMS (CMS plan benefit package (PBP) files, CY2027). A range means the cost depends on the service or setting. Rows the filing does not state are left out rather than guessed; an out-of-network dash means the plan files no separate out-of-network cost for that service. Contact the plan for the full Evidence of Coverage.

Drug tiers — preferred pharmacy, initial coverage

TierCost-sharing
Tier 1 · Preferred Generic$0.00
Tier 2 · Generic$5.00
Tier 3 · Preferred Brand20%
Tier 4 · Non-Preferred Drug25%
Tier 5 · Specialty Tier28%

Rx cost-sharing by coverage phase

Tier30-day supply90-day supply
PreferredStandardMail OrderPreferredStandardMail Order
Initial coverage phase
Tier 1: Preferred Generic$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00
Tier 2: Generic$5.00$5.00$5.00$15.00$15.00$15.00
Tier 3: Preferred Brand20%20%20%20%20%20%
Tier 4: Non-Preferred Drug25%25%25%25%25%25%
Tier 5: Specialty Tier28%28%28%n/an/an/a

These are the initial coverage phase amounts, as the plan filed them in its benefit package. The deductible and post-threshold phases are not stated per tier in that filing, so they are not shown here rather than being inferred; the plan's annual out-of-pocket threshold is $2,400.00.

Star rating measures

Each CMS star measure for contract H8604, 2027 against 2026
Measure20272026
Staying Healthy: Screenings, Tests and Vaccines
Breast Cancer Screening · C014 out of 5 stars for Breast Cancer Screening4 out of 5 stars for Breast Cancer Screening
Colorectal Cancer Screening · C023 out of 5 stars for Colorectal Cancer Screening5 out of 5 stars for Colorectal Cancer Screening
Annual Flu Vaccine · C032 out of 5 stars for Annual Flu Vaccine4 out of 5 stars for Annual Flu Vaccine
Improving or Maintaining Physical Health · C043 out of 5 stars for Improving or Maintaining Physical Health4 out of 5 stars for Improving or Maintaining Physical Health
Improving or Maintaining Mental Health · C053 out of 5 stars for Improving or Maintaining Mental Health1 out of 5 stars for Improving or Maintaining Mental Health
Monitoring Physical Activity · C061 out of 5 stars for Monitoring Physical Activity2 out of 5 stars for Monitoring Physical Activity
Managing Chronic (Long Term) Conditions
Diabetes Care – Eye Exam · C111 out of 5 stars for Diabetes Care – Eye Exam2 out of 5 stars for Diabetes Care – Eye Exam
Diabetes Care – Blood Sugar Controlled · C123 out of 5 stars for Diabetes Care – Blood Sugar Controlled4 out of 5 stars for Diabetes Care – Blood Sugar Controlled
Kidney Health Evaluation for Patients with Diabetes · C132 out of 5 stars for Kidney Health Evaluation for Patients with Diabetes2 out of 5 stars for Kidney Health Evaluation for Patients with Diabetes
Controlling High Blood Pressure · C142 out of 5 stars for Controlling High Blood Pressure2 out of 5 stars for Controlling High Blood Pressure
Reducing the Risk of Falling · C151 out of 5 stars for Reducing the Risk of Falling1 out of 5 stars for Reducing the Risk of Falling
Improving Bladder Control · C164 out of 5 stars for Improving Bladder Control1 out of 5 stars for Improving Bladder Control
Plan All-Cause Readmissions · C175 out of 5 stars for Plan All-Cause Readmissionsno data
Statin Therapy for Patients with Cardiovascular Disease · C184 out of 5 stars for Statin Therapy for Patients with Cardiovascular Diseaseno data
Transitions of Care · C192 out of 5 stars for Transitions of Care2 out of 5 stars for Transitions of Care
Follow-up after Emergency Department Visit for People with Multiple High-Risk Chronic Conditions · C202 out of 5 stars for Follow-up after Emergency Department Visit for People with Multiple High-Risk Chronic Conditions3 out of 5 stars for Follow-up after Emergency Department Visit for People with Multiple High-Risk Chronic Conditions
Member Experience with Health Plan
Getting Needed Care · C215 out of 5 stars for Getting Needed Care5 out of 5 stars for Getting Needed Care
Getting Appointments and Care Quickly · C225 out of 5 stars for Getting Appointments and Care Quickly4 out of 5 stars for Getting Appointments and Care Quickly
Customer Service · C235 out of 5 stars for Customer Service5 out of 5 stars for Customer Service
Rating of Health Care Quality · C244 out of 5 stars for Rating of Health Care Quality4 out of 5 stars for Rating of Health Care Quality
Rating of Health Plan · C255 out of 5 stars for Rating of Health Plan5 out of 5 stars for Rating of Health Plan
Care Coordination · C264 out of 5 stars for Care Coordination4 out of 5 stars for Care Coordination
Member Complaints and Changes in the Health Plan's Performance
Complaints about the Health Plan · C274 out of 5 stars for Complaints about the Health Plan5 out of 5 stars for Complaints about the Health Plan
Members Choosing to Leave the Plan · C284 out of 5 stars for Members Choosing to Leave the Plan5 out of 5 stars for Members Choosing to Leave the Plan
Health Plan Quality Improvement · C292 out of 5 stars for Health Plan Quality Improvement2 out of 5 stars for Health Plan Quality Improvement
Health Plan Customer Service
Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability · C323 out of 5 stars for Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability3 out of 5 stars for Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability
DD1: Drug Plan Customer Service
Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability · D013 out of 5 stars for Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability3 out of 5 stars for Call Center – Foreign Language Interpreter and TTY Availability
DD2: Member Complaints and Changes in the Drug Plan’s Performance
Complaints about the Drug Plan · D024 out of 5 stars for Complaints about the Drug Plan5 out of 5 stars for Complaints about the Drug Plan
Members Choosing to Leave the Plan · D034 out of 5 stars for Members Choosing to Leave the Plan5 out of 5 stars for Members Choosing to Leave the Plan
Drug Plan Quality Improvement · D041 out of 5 stars for Drug Plan Quality Improvement3 out of 5 stars for Drug Plan Quality Improvement
DD3: Member Experience with the Drug Plan
Rating of Drug Plan · D054 out of 5 stars for Rating of Drug Plan4 out of 5 stars for Rating of Drug Plan
Getting Needed Prescription Drugs · D064 out of 5 stars for Getting Needed Prescription Drugs5 out of 5 stars for Getting Needed Prescription Drugs
DD4: Drug Safety and Accuracy of Drug Pricing
MPF Price Accuracy · D075 out of 5 stars for MPF Price Accuracy5 out of 5 stars for MPF Price Accuracy
Medication Adherence for Diabetes Medications · D082 out of 5 stars for Medication Adherence for Diabetes Medications2 out of 5 stars for Medication Adherence for Diabetes Medications
Medication Adherence for Hypertension (RAS antagonists) · D093 out of 5 stars for Medication Adherence for Hypertension (RAS antagonists)3 out of 5 stars for Medication Adherence for Hypertension (RAS antagonists)
Medication Adherence for Cholesterol (Statins) · D103 out of 5 stars for Medication Adherence for Cholesterol (Statins)4 out of 5 stars for Medication Adherence for Cholesterol (Statins)
Statin Use in Persons with Diabetes (SUPD) · D112 out of 5 stars for Statin Use in Persons with Diabetes (SUPD)3 out of 5 stars for Statin Use in Persons with Diabetes (SUPD)
Concurrent Use of Opioids and Benzodiazepines (COB) · D124 out of 5 stars for Concurrent Use of Opioids and Benzodiazepines (COB)new measure
Polypharmacy: Use of Multiple Anticholinergic Medications in Older Adults (Poly-ACH) · D133 out of 5 stars for Polypharmacy: Use of Multiple Anticholinergic Medications in Older Adults (Poly-ACH)new measure

Measures are paired between the two years by name, not by the C/D number: CMS reuses those numbers, and in 2027 nineteen of them refer to a different measure than they did in 2026. A measure introduced for 2027 has no 2026 score to show. Published per contract — every plan under H8604 shares it.

Also available in 54 other WV counties

Benefits in plain text

The Health Plan SecureChoice Optimum (PPO) (H8604-014-2) is a 2027 PPO Medicare Advantage plan offered by The Health Plan, available to residents of Mingo County, WV.

The monthly premium is $0.00.

With full Extra Help (the Low-Income Subsidy), the total monthly premium is $0.00.

Its in-network out-of-pocket maximum is $7,000.00.

The combined in- and out-of-network out-of-pocket maximum is $9,550.00.

The drug deductible is $425.00. Tier 1 and 2 exempt.

At a preferred pharmacy in the initial coverage phase, a 30-day supply costs tier 1 (Preferred Generic): $0.00; tier 2 (Generic): $5.00; tier 3 (Preferred Brand): 20%; tier 4 (Non-Preferred Drug): 25%; tier 5 (Specialty Tier): 28%.

CMS gives the plan's contract (H8604) an overall rating of 3 out of 5 stars.

Email a copy of the plan benefit details

Would you like us to send the The Health Plan SecureChoice Optimum (PPO) benefit details to your email?

Plan facts come from the CMS plan Landscape file and the CMS plan benefit package (PBP) files.