MedicarePartD.guide

A non-government resource built from CMS public data

Blue Medicare Essential (HMO)

Available to residents of Mitchell County, NC for 2026. Contract H3449, plan 027, segment 2.

Renewed for 2026. CMS carries this plan forward from 2025.

Plan details

Monthly premium (Part C + D)$0.00
— medical (Part C) part$0.00
— drug (Part D) part$0.00?
Monthly premium with full Extra Help (LIS)$0.00?
Part B premium reduction (giveback)$62.50 a month?You must continue to pay your Medicare Part B premium.
Health plan deductible (in-network)None
In-network out-of-pocket maximum$9,250.00?
Drug deductible$615.00Tier 1, 2 and 6 exempt
Drug out-of-pocket threshold$2,100.00
Plan typeHMO?
Contract / planH3449-027-2
Offered byBlue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina
Parent organizationCuraCor Solutions Corp.
Formulary drugs3,533
Formulary exception tier4?
Pharmacy searchmedicare.bluecrossnc.com/prescription-drug-coverage
Member services(866)760-0823TTY 711

CMS star ratings

Overall
4 out of 5 stars for Overall
Health plan (Part C)
4.5 out of 5 stars for Health plan (Part C)
Drug plan (Part D)
4 out of 5 stars for Drug plan (Part D)

Published per contract — every plan under contract H3449 shares this rating.

Plan health benefits

ServiceIn-network
Doctor visits
Primary care doctor$10 copay
Specialist$45 copay
Other health care professional$10–$45 copay
Additional telehealth services$0–$45 copay(authorization required)
Preventive care
Medicare-covered preventive services$0 copay
Annual physical exam$0 copay
Kidney disease education$0 copay
Glaucoma screening$0 copay
Diabetes self-management training$0 copay
Diagnostic tests, labs and imaging
Diagnostic tests and procedures$0–$25 copay(authorization required)
Lab services$0–$5 copay(authorization required)
Diagnostic radiology (e.g. MRI, CT)$0–$300 copay; 20% coinsurance(authorization required)
Therapeutic radiology$0–$60 copay; 20% coinsurance(authorization required)
Outpatient x-rays$0–$15 copay(authorization required)
Emergency and urgent care
Emergency room$115 copay
Urgent care$40 copay
Worldwide emergency coverage$115 copay · $100,000 plan limit
Worldwide urgent care$40 copay · $100,000 plan limit
Worldwide emergency transportation$275 copay
Hospital care
Inpatient hospital stay$407 per day for days 1–6; $0 per day for days 7–90; $0 per day for days 91–999 (additional days)(authorization required)
Outpatient hospital services$0–$335 copay(authorization required)
Outpatient observation$335 copay
Ambulatory surgical center$0–$300 copay(authorization required)
Outpatient blood services$0 copay
Skilled nursing and home health
Skilled nursing facility$0 per day for days 1–20; $218 per day for days 21–100(authorization required)
Home health care$0 copay(authorization required)
Kidney dialysis20% coinsurance
Rehabilitation
Occupational therapy$25 copay
Physical therapy and speech-language therapy$25 copay
Cardiac rehabilitation$0 copay
Pulmonary rehabilitation$15 copay
Mental health and substance use
Inpatient psychiatric hospital stay$407 per day for days 1–5; $0 per day for days 6–90(authorization required)
Outpatient mental health, individual session$40 copay
Outpatient mental health, group session$40 copay
Psychiatrist, individual session$40 copay
Psychiatrist, group session$40 copay
Partial hospitalization$40 copay(authorization required)
Intensive outpatient program$40 copay(authorization required)
Outpatient substance use, individual session$40 copay(authorization required)
Outpatient substance use, group session$40 copay(authorization required)
Opioid treatment program$10 copay(authorization required)
Ambulance and transportation
Ground ambulance$275 copay(authorization required)
Air ambulance$275 copay(authorization required)
Transportation to plan-approved locationsNot covered
Medical equipment and supplies
Durable medical equipment (e.g. wheelchairs, oxygen)20% coinsurance(authorization required)
Prosthetics (e.g. braces, artificial limbs)20% coinsurance(authorization required)
Medical supplies20% coinsurance(authorization required)
Diabetes supplies0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required)
Diabetic therapeutic shoes or inserts20% coinsurance(authorization required)
Chiropractic, acupuncture and foot care
Chiropractic (Medicare-covered)$15 copay
Routine chiropractic careNot covered
AcupunctureNot covered
Foot exams and treatment (Medicare-covered)$45 copay
Routine foot careNot covered
Dental?
Medicare-covered dental services$45 copay(authorization required)
Oral exams$0 copay(limits apply)
Cleanings$0 copay(limits apply)
Fluoride treatmentNot covered
Dental x-rays$0 copay(limits apply)
Other diagnostic dental servicesNot covered
Other preventive dental servicesNot covered
Restorative services (fillings, crowns)Not covered
Endodontics (root canals)Not covered
Periodontics (gum disease)$0 copay(limits apply)
Dentures and other removable prosthodonticsNot covered
Maxillofacial prostheticsNot covered
ImplantsNot covered
Bridges and other fixed prosthodonticsNot covered
Oral and maxillofacial surgeryNot covered
OrthodonticsNot covered
Adjunctive general services$0 copay(limits apply)
Vision?
Eye exam (Medicare-covered)$0–$25 copay(limits apply)
Routine eye exam$0 copay(limits apply)
Eyewear after cataract surgery (Medicare-covered)20% coinsurance(limits apply)
Contact lenses$0 copay(limits apply)
Eyeglasses (frames and lenses)$0 copay(limits apply)
Eyeglass lenses$0 copay(limits apply)
Eyeglass frames$0 copay(limits apply)
Eyewear upgrades$0 copay(limits apply)
Hearing?
Hearing exam (Medicare-covered)$25 copay
Routine hearing exam$0 copay(limits apply)
Hearing aid fitting and evaluation$0 copay
Hearing aids (all types)$499–$999 copay(limits apply)
Hearing aids, inner earNot covered
Hearing aids, outer earNot covered
Hearing aids, over the earNot covered
Medicare Part B drugs
Part B insulin$35 copay(authorization required, step therapy may apply)
Chemotherapy and radiation drugs0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required, step therapy may apply)
Other Part B drugs0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required, step therapy may apply)
Other extra benefits?
Over-the-counter (OTC) allowanceCovered (allowance not stated)
Meals after a hospital stay or for a chronic condition$0 copay(referral required)
Fitness benefit$0 copay
Health educationNot covered
Nutritional / dietary benefitNot covered
Extra smoking and tobacco cessation counseling$0 copay
Enhanced disease managementNot covered
TelemonitoringNot covered
Remote access technologies (web/phone, nurse line)Not covered
Home and bathroom safety devicesNot covered
Counseling servicesNot covered
In-home safety assessmentNot covered
Personal emergency response system (PERS)$0 copay
Medical nutrition therapyNot covered
Post-discharge in-home medication reconciliationNot covered
Re-admission preventionNot covered
Wigs for hair loss from chemotherapyNot covered
Weight management programsNot covered
Alternative therapiesNot covered
Therapeutic massageNot covered
Adult day health servicesNot covered
Home-based palliative careNot covered
In-home support servicesNot covered
Support for caregivers$0 copay

In-network cost-sharing as the plan filed it with CMS (CMS plan benefit package (PBP) files, CY2026). A range means the cost depends on the service or setting. Rows the filing does not state are left out rather than guessed. Contact the plan for the full Evidence of Coverage.

Drug tiers — preferred pharmacy, initial coverage

TierCost-sharing
Tier 1$0.00
Tier 2$4.00
Tier 325%
Tier 425%
Tier 525%
Tier 6$0.00

Rx cost-sharing by coverage phase

Tier30-day supply90-day supply
PreferredStandardMail OrderPreferredStandardMail Order
Initial deductible phase
Tier 1: Preferred Generic$0.00$15.00$0.00$0.00$45.00$0.00
Tier 2: Generic$4.00$20.00$0.00$12.00$60.00$0.00
Tier 6: Select Care Drugs$0.00$3.00$0.00$0.00$3.00$0.00
Initial coverage phase
Tier 1: Preferred Generic$0.00$15.00$0.00$0.00$45.00$0.00
Tier 2: Generic$4.00$20.00$0.00$12.00$60.00$0.00
Tier 3: Preferred Brand25%25%25%25%25%25%
Tier 4: Non-Preferred Drug25%25%25%25%25%25%
Tier 5: Specialty Tier25%25%25%n/an/an/a
Tier 6: Select Care Drugs$0.00$3.00$0.00$0.00$3.00$0.00
Catastrophic coverage phase
Tier 1: Preferred Generic$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00
Tier 2: Generic$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00
Tier 3: Preferred Brand$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00
Tier 4: Non-Preferred Drug$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00
Tier 5: Specialty Tier$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00
Tier 6: Select Care Drugs$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00$0.00

Also available in 79 other NC counties

Benefits in plain text

Blue Medicare Essential (HMO) (H3449-027-2) is a 2026 HMO Medicare Advantage plan offered by Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina, available to residents of Mitchell County, NC.

The monthly premium is $0.00 (Part C and Part D together).

The plan reduces the member's Medicare Part B premium by $62.50 a month (a "giveback"); the Part B premium itself must still be paid.

With full Extra Help (the Low-Income Subsidy), the total monthly premium is $0.00.

There is no in-network deductible for health services.

Its in-network out-of-pocket maximum is $9,250.00.

The drug deductible is $615.00. Tier 1, 2 and 6 exempt.

The plan's formulary lists 3,533 drugs.

At a preferred pharmacy in the initial coverage phase, a 30-day supply costs tier 1: $0.00; tier 2: $4.00; tier 3: 25%; tier 4: 25%; tier 5: 25%; tier 6: $0.00.

CMS gives the plan's contract (H3449) an overall rating of 4 out of 5 stars.

Email a copy of the plan benefit details

Would you like us to send the Blue Medicare Essential (HMO) benefit details to your email?

Plan facts come from the CMS quarterly prescription drug plan public use files; the premium split, Extra Help premium, MOOP and plan type from the CMS Landscape file; the Part B giveback and health benefits from the CMS plan benefit package (PBP) files.