Blue Medicare Essential (HMO)
Available to residents of Montgomery County, NC for 2026. Contract H3449, plan 027, segment 2.
- ✉ Email a copy of the plan benefit details
- Plan health benefits
- Benefits in plain text
- Rx cost-sharing for all pharmacies and tiers
- Other plans in Montgomery County
- Plan website
- Browse the Blue Medicare Essential (HMO) formulary
Renewed for 2026. CMS carries this plan forward from 2025.
Plan details
| Monthly premium (Part C + D) | $0.00 |
|---|---|
| — medical (Part C) part | $0.00 |
| — drug (Part D) part | $0.00? |
| Monthly premium with full Extra Help (LIS) | $0.00? |
| Part B premium reduction (giveback) | $62.50 a month?You must continue to pay your Medicare Part B premium. |
| Health plan deductible (in-network) | None |
| In-network out-of-pocket maximum | $9,250.00? |
| Drug deductible | $615.00Tier 1, 2 and 6 exempt |
| Drug out-of-pocket threshold | $2,100.00 |
| Plan type | HMO? |
| Contract / plan | H3449-027-2 |
| Offered by | Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina |
| Parent organization | CuraCor Solutions Corp. |
| Formulary drugs | 3,533 |
| Formulary exception tier | 4? |
| Pharmacy search | medicare.bluecrossnc.com/prescription-drug-coverage |
| Member services | (866)760-0823TTY 711 |
CMS star ratings
- Overall
- 4 out of 5 stars for Overall
- Health plan (Part C)
- 4.5 out of 5 stars for Health plan (Part C)
- Drug plan (Part D)
- 4 out of 5 stars for Drug plan (Part D)
Published per contract — every plan under contract H3449 shares this rating.
Plan health benefits
| Service | In-network |
|---|---|
| Doctor visits | |
| Primary care doctor | $10 copay |
| Specialist | $45 copay |
| Other health care professional | $10–$45 copay |
| Additional telehealth services | $0–$45 copay(authorization required) |
| Preventive care | |
| Medicare-covered preventive services | $0 copay |
| Annual physical exam | $0 copay |
| Kidney disease education | $0 copay |
| Glaucoma screening | $0 copay |
| Diabetes self-management training | $0 copay |
| Diagnostic tests, labs and imaging | |
| Diagnostic tests and procedures | $0–$25 copay(authorization required) |
| Lab services | $0–$5 copay(authorization required) |
| Diagnostic radiology (e.g. MRI, CT) | $0–$300 copay; 20% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Therapeutic radiology | $0–$60 copay; 20% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Outpatient x-rays | $0–$15 copay(authorization required) |
| Emergency and urgent care | |
| Emergency room | $115 copay |
| Urgent care | $40 copay |
| Worldwide emergency coverage | $115 copay · $100,000 plan limit |
| Worldwide urgent care | $40 copay · $100,000 plan limit |
| Worldwide emergency transportation | $275 copay |
| Hospital care | |
| Inpatient hospital stay | $407 per day for days 1–6; $0 per day for days 7–90; $0 per day for days 91–999 (additional days)(authorization required) |
| Outpatient hospital services | $0–$335 copay(authorization required) |
| Outpatient observation | $335 copay |
| Ambulatory surgical center | $0–$300 copay(authorization required) |
| Outpatient blood services | $0 copay |
| Skilled nursing and home health | |
| Skilled nursing facility | $0 per day for days 1–20; $218 per day for days 21–100(authorization required) |
| Home health care | $0 copay(authorization required) |
| Kidney dialysis | 20% coinsurance |
| Rehabilitation | |
| Occupational therapy | $25 copay |
| Physical therapy and speech-language therapy | $25 copay |
| Cardiac rehabilitation | $0 copay |
| Pulmonary rehabilitation | $15 copay |
| Mental health and substance use | |
| Inpatient psychiatric hospital stay | $407 per day for days 1–5; $0 per day for days 6–90(authorization required) |
| Outpatient mental health, individual session | $40 copay |
| Outpatient mental health, group session | $40 copay |
| Psychiatrist, individual session | $40 copay |
| Psychiatrist, group session | $40 copay |
| Partial hospitalization | $40 copay(authorization required) |
| Intensive outpatient program | $40 copay(authorization required) |
| Outpatient substance use, individual session | $40 copay(authorization required) |
| Outpatient substance use, group session | $40 copay(authorization required) |
| Opioid treatment program | $10 copay(authorization required) |
| Ambulance and transportation | |
| Ground ambulance | $275 copay(authorization required) |
| Air ambulance | $275 copay(authorization required) |
| Transportation to plan-approved locations | Not covered |
| Medical equipment and supplies | |
| Durable medical equipment (e.g. wheelchairs, oxygen) | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Prosthetics (e.g. braces, artificial limbs) | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Medical supplies | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Diabetes supplies | 0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Diabetic therapeutic shoes or inserts | 20% coinsurance(authorization required) |
| Chiropractic, acupuncture and foot care | |
| Chiropractic (Medicare-covered) | $15 copay |
| Routine chiropractic care | Not covered |
| Acupuncture | Not covered |
| Foot exams and treatment (Medicare-covered) | $45 copay |
| Routine foot care | Not covered |
| Dental? | |
| Medicare-covered dental services | $45 copay(authorization required) |
| Oral exams | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Cleanings | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Fluoride treatment | Not covered |
| Dental x-rays | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Other diagnostic dental services | Not covered |
| Other preventive dental services | Not covered |
| Restorative services (fillings, crowns) | Not covered |
| Endodontics (root canals) | Not covered |
| Periodontics (gum disease) | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Dentures and other removable prosthodontics | Not covered |
| Maxillofacial prosthetics | Not covered |
| Implants | Not covered |
| Bridges and other fixed prosthodontics | Not covered |
| Oral and maxillofacial surgery | Not covered |
| Orthodontics | Not covered |
| Adjunctive general services | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Vision? | |
| Eye exam (Medicare-covered) | $0–$25 copay(limits apply) |
| Routine eye exam | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Eyewear after cataract surgery (Medicare-covered) | 20% coinsurance(limits apply) |
| Contact lenses | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Eyeglasses (frames and lenses) | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Eyeglass lenses | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Eyeglass frames | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Eyewear upgrades | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Hearing? | |
| Hearing exam (Medicare-covered) | $25 copay |
| Routine hearing exam | $0 copay(limits apply) |
| Hearing aid fitting and evaluation | $0 copay |
| Hearing aids (all types) | $499–$999 copay(limits apply) |
| Hearing aids, inner ear | Not covered |
| Hearing aids, outer ear | Not covered |
| Hearing aids, over the ear | Not covered |
| Medicare Part B drugs | |
| Part B insulin | $35 copay(authorization required, step therapy may apply) |
| Chemotherapy and radiation drugs | 0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required, step therapy may apply) |
| Other Part B drugs | 0%–20% coinsurance(authorization required, step therapy may apply) |
| Other extra benefits? | |
| Over-the-counter (OTC) allowance | Covered (allowance not stated) |
| Meals after a hospital stay or for a chronic condition | $0 copay(referral required) |
| Fitness benefit | $0 copay |
| Health education | Not covered |
| Nutritional / dietary benefit | Not covered |
| Extra smoking and tobacco cessation counseling | $0 copay |
| Enhanced disease management | Not covered |
| Telemonitoring | Not covered |
| Remote access technologies (web/phone, nurse line) | Not covered |
| Home and bathroom safety devices | Not covered |
| Counseling services | Not covered |
| In-home safety assessment | Not covered |
| Personal emergency response system (PERS) | $0 copay |
| Medical nutrition therapy | Not covered |
| Post-discharge in-home medication reconciliation | Not covered |
| Re-admission prevention | Not covered |
| Wigs for hair loss from chemotherapy | Not covered |
| Weight management programs | Not covered |
| Alternative therapies | Not covered |
| Therapeutic massage | Not covered |
| Adult day health services | Not covered |
| Home-based palliative care | Not covered |
| In-home support services | Not covered |
| Support for caregivers | $0 copay |
In-network cost-sharing as the plan filed it with CMS (CMS plan benefit package (PBP) files, CY2026). A range means the cost depends on the service or setting. Rows the filing does not state are left out rather than guessed. Contact the plan for the full Evidence of Coverage.
Drug tiers — preferred pharmacy, initial coverage
| Tier | Cost-sharing |
|---|---|
| Tier 1 | $0.00 |
| Tier 2 | $4.00 |
| Tier 3 | 25% |
| Tier 4 | 25% |
| Tier 5 | 25% |
| Tier 6 | $0.00 |
Rx cost-sharing by coverage phase
| Tier | 30-day supply | 90-day supply | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Preferred | Standard | Mail Order | Preferred | Standard | Mail Order | |
| Initial deductible phase | ||||||
| Tier 1: Preferred Generic | $0.00 | $15.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $45.00 | $0.00 |
| Tier 2: Generic | $4.00 | $20.00 | $0.00 | $12.00 | $60.00 | $0.00 |
| Tier 6: Select Care Drugs | $0.00 | $3.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $3.00 | $0.00 |
| Initial coverage phase | ||||||
| Tier 1: Preferred Generic | $0.00 | $15.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $45.00 | $0.00 |
| Tier 2: Generic | $4.00 | $20.00 | $0.00 | $12.00 | $60.00 | $0.00 |
| Tier 3: Preferred Brand | 25% | 25% | 25% | 25% | 25% | 25% |
| Tier 4: Non-Preferred Drug | 25% | 25% | 25% | 25% | 25% | 25% |
| Tier 5: Specialty Tier | 25% | 25% | 25% | n/a | n/a | n/a |
| Tier 6: Select Care Drugs | $0.00 | $3.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $3.00 | $0.00 |
| Catastrophic coverage phase | ||||||
| Tier 1: Preferred Generic | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Tier 2: Generic | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Tier 3: Preferred Brand | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Tier 4: Non-Preferred Drug | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Tier 5: Specialty Tier | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Tier 6: Select Care Drugs | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 | $0.00 |
Also available in 79 other NC counties
- Alexander
- Alleghany
- Anson
- Ashe
- Avery
- Beaufort
- Bertie
- Bladen
- Brunswick
- Cabarrus
- Caldwell
- Camden
- Carteret
- Caswell
- Cherokee
- Chowan
- Clay
- Cleveland
- Columbus
- Craven
- Cumberland
- Currituck
- Dare
- Duplin
- Durham
- Edgecombe
- Franklin
- Gates
- Graham
- Granville
- Greene
- Halifax
- Harnett
- Henderson
- Hertford
- Hoke
- Hyde
- Jackson
- Johnston
- Jones
- Lee
- Lenoir
- Lincoln
- McDowell
- Macon
- Madison
- Martin
- Mitchell
- Moore
- Nash
- Northampton
- Onslow
- Orange
- Pamlico
- Pasquotank
- Pender
- Perquimans
- Pitt
- Polk
- Richmond
Benefits in plain text
Blue Medicare Essential (HMO) (H3449-027-2) is a 2026 HMO Medicare Advantage plan offered by Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina, available to residents of Montgomery County, NC.
The monthly premium is $0.00 (Part C and Part D together).
The plan reduces the member's Medicare Part B premium by $62.50 a month (a "giveback"); the Part B premium itself must still be paid.
With full Extra Help (the Low-Income Subsidy), the total monthly premium is $0.00.
There is no in-network deductible for health services.
Its in-network out-of-pocket maximum is $9,250.00.
The drug deductible is $615.00. Tier 1, 2 and 6 exempt.
The plan's formulary lists 3,533 drugs.
At a preferred pharmacy in the initial coverage phase, a 30-day supply costs tier 1: $0.00; tier 2: $4.00; tier 3: 25%; tier 4: 25%; tier 5: 25%; tier 6: $0.00.
CMS gives the plan's contract (H3449) an overall rating of 4 out of 5 stars.
Email a copy of the plan benefit details
Plan facts come from the CMS quarterly prescription drug plan public use files; the premium split, Extra Help premium, MOOP and plan type from the CMS Landscape file; the Part B giveback and health benefits from the CMS plan benefit package (PBP) files.